Group photo of Alabama Teacher of the Year Elementary School Nominees
Group photo of Alabama Teacher of the Year Middle and High School Nominees
Education Support Professional Award Winners Group Photo
Education Support Professional Award Winners Group Photo

School Nominees for Alabama Teacher of the Year



    Big Sandy Elementary: Leigh Adams

    Brookwood Elementary: Amber Hartley

    Brookwood High: Jeffrey West

    Brookwood Middle: Jeremy Mitchler

    Buhl Elementary: Patricia White

    Collins-Riverside Middle: Alana Champion

    Cottondale Elementary: Leslie VanSlambrouck

    Crestmont Elementary: Riley Earnest

    Davis-Emerson Middle: Evains Hambright

    Duncanville Middle: Ashlee Gillespie

    Echols Middle: Mark Patterson

    Englewood Elementary: Emily Harding

    Faucett-Vestavia Elementary: Candi Hoover

    Flatwoods Elementary: Traci Sisk

    Hillcrest High: Kathryn Wilkerson

    Hillcrest Middle: Dana Fitzpatrick

    Holt Elementary: Meghan Gamble

    Holt High: Matthew Daugherty

    Huntington Place Elementary: Catherine Hocutt

    Lake View Elementary: Miranda Sampsell

    Lloyd Wood Education Center: Lisa Lynn Ferguson

    Matthews Elementary: Jane Harvey

    Maxwell Elementary: Katie Smith (Chosen as Elementary System-Level Nominee)

    Myrtlewood Elementary: Tina Williams

    Northport Elementary: Emily Dunaway

    Northside High: Justin Ray (Chosen as Secondary System-Level Nominee)

    Northside Middle: Kristin McGuff

    Sipsey Valley High: Michelle Higginbotham

    Sipsey Valley Middle: Courtney Hooper

    Taylorville Primary: Lori Wilmuth

    Tuscaloosa County High: Robert Workman

    Vance Elementary: Teighlor Caver

    Walker Elementary: Lynsey Skelton

    Westwood Elementary: Donna Latham

2020 TCSS Educator Recognition Award Recipients

  • Congratulations to our 2020 TCSS Educator Recognition award recipients! This year’s recipients were honored with a dinner and awards program on Tuesday, January 21. Each of our 34 schools selected a certified educator at their school as a nominee for Alabama Teacher of the Year. Those nominees were honored at the dinner, and two of them were chosen as system nominees for Alabama Teacher of the Year. Ms. Katie Smith of Maxwell Elementary School is the TCSS elementary nominee, and Mr. Justin Ray of Northside High School is the TCSS secondary nominee. Each school also selected one or more education support professionals to be recognized at the dinner. TCSS also recognized Mrs. Debbie Crawford of Holt Elementary School as Outstanding Principal of the Year, and Mrs. Cheryl Morrow of Hillcrest High School as Outstanding Assistant Principal of the Year. A new addition this year to the Educator Recognition Dinner was the Education Partner Award, presented to organizations in our community that help to educate our students. The Education Partner Award recipients were Project Bethel and S.P.A.N of Tuscaloosa County. Superintendent Dr. Walter Davie and Chief School Financial Officer Mr. Danny Higdon were also recognized for their service and contributions to the Tuscaloosa County School System. Both Dr. Davie and Mr. Higdon have announced their upcoming retirements in 2020. TCSS thanks longtime educator and former TCSS assistant superintendent Dr. Polly Moore for serving as guest speaker for this year’s Educator Recognition Dinner. TCSS also thanks our Educator Recognition Dinner sponsors: Barracuda, Channell Communications, Howard Education, N. Joyce Sellers Foundation, Robertson’s BBQ & Catering, Tuscaloosa Education Foundation, and Viperline.


Education Support Professional Award Winners

  • Big Sandy Elementary: Stacey Townsend

    Brookwood Elementary: Kristina Mills, Diane Powell

    Brookwood High: Jennifer Battles, Rachel Watters

    Brookwood Middle: Rose Ward

    Buhl Elementary: Janice Redding

    Central Office: Dawn Barron, Billie Davidson

    Cottondale Elementary: Martha Payne

    Crestmont Elementary: Lucy Bushong

    Davis-Emerson Middle: Bobbie Stark

    Duncanville Middle: Kirsten Snead

    Echols Middle: Eunive Kitchen

    Englewood Elementary: Christy Snyder

    Faucett-Vestavia Elementary: Stephanie Applegate

    Flatwoods Elementary: Carlos Brewer, Faye Davis

    Hillcrest High: Eddy McKnight, Wanda Uptain, Wendy Windham

    Hillcrest Middle: Tanya Thames

    Holt Elementary: Shonna Allen, Eryn Blake

    Huntington Place Elementary: Misti Rinehart

    Lake View Elementary: Stephanie George

    Lloyd Wood Education Center: Christel Davis, Ann Thomas

    Matthews Elementary: Felicia Brown

    Maxwell Elementary: Teresa Hendrix

    Myrtlewood Elementary: Kimberly Ridley

    Northport Elementary: Lacey Sullivan

    Northside High: Alana Beard

    Northside Middle: Angela Rice

    Sipsey Valley High: Sharon Hall

    Sipsey Valley Middle: Patricia Wells

    Taylorville Primary: Gayland Barger

    Transportation Department: Kristy Hayes, Jerry Tidwell

    Tuscaloosa County High: Marilyn Frieson, Timothy Steele

    Vance Elementary: Becky Watkins

    Walker Elementary: Tanya Simmons

    Westwood Elementary: Belinda Snow