• Congratulations to our 2024 Educator Recognition Awards honorees! The award ceremony was held Monday, January 29, 2024, at Bryant Conference Center.

    Thank you to Alabama Women's Basketball Coach Kristy Curry for joining us as our guest speaker and to the Tuscaloosa County High School Velvet Blue Orchestra for providing music for the evening. Also, thank you to Tuscaloosa Education Foundation for sponsoring the Educator Recognition Awards.

    Congratulations to our 2024 Educator Partner Award recipients, Tuscaloosa County Extension Office and Ward Scott Morris Architecture. Also, congratulations to Karen Daggert and Charles Plasters, our system-level Alabama Teacher of the Year nominees, who will move on to represent TCSS in the statewide Alabama Teacher of the Year program.

    View a full list of honorees below.

    Outstanding Administrator Awards

    Principal, Elementary Level: LaQuita Coleman, Myrtlewood Elementary

    Principal, Secondary Level: Dr. Daniel Dickens, Holt High

    Assistant Principal, Elementary Level: Heather Lawley, Holt Elementary

    Assistant Principal, Secondary Level: Kevin Thomas, Hillcrest Career Tech Annex

    School Nominees for Alabama Teacher of the Year

    Big Sandy Elementary Linlee Morton

    Brookwood Elementary Yvette Johnson

    Brookwood High Charles Plasters

    Brookwood Middle Kathryn Robertson

    Buhl Elementary Tessa Driver

    Collins-Riverside Intermediate David Bennett

    Cottondale Elementary Kaylee Neal

    Crestmont Elementary Anna Cain

    Davis-Emerson Middle Beth Spradley

    Duncanville Middle Jay Bryan

    Echols Middle Elizabeth Holter

    Englewood Elementary LaQuita Williams

    Faucett-Vestavia Elementary Crista Smith

    Flatwoods Elementary Karen Daggert

    Hillcrest High Judi Payne

    Hillcrest Middle Danielle Johnson

    Holt Elementary Kaleigh Rice

    Holt High Michael Yessick

    Huntington Place Elementary Tiffany Turner

    Lloyd Wood Education Center Jamie Evans

    Matthews Elementary KaNesha Hood

    Maxwell Elementary Tori Hansford

    Myrtlewood Elementary Carolyn Rose

    Northport Elementary Caroline Tilley

    Northport Intermediate Ashley Lee

    Northside High Robert Jones

    Northside Middle Derrick Miles

    Sipsey Valley High Vicki Keeton

    Sipsey Valley Middle Rebekah Robertson

    Taylorville Primary Kate Atkinson

    TCSS Academy Dianne Cochran

    Tuscaloosa County High Meredith Barringer

    Vance Elementary Savannah King

    Walker Elementary Dana Fleming

    Westwood Elementary Laura Strachan

    Education Support Professional Award Recipients

    Big Sandy Elementary Glenda Fulgham

    Brookwood Elementary Sondra West

    Brookwood High Kristen Faircloth

    Brookwood Middle Erica George

    Buhl Elementary McCallie Hansford

    Collins-Riverside Intermediate Beatrina Williams

    Cottondale Elementary Kim Nix

    Crestmont Elementary Nancy Struble

    Davis-Emerson Middle Kristie Kroeger

    Duncanville Middle Billy Doss

    Echols Middle Lisa Lee

    Englewood Elementary Monica Cooper-Turner

    Faucett-Vestavia Elementary Emily Harris

    Flatwoods Elementary Grace Esteves

    Hillcrest High Tammy Hubbard

    Hillcrest Middle Lottie Lewis

    Holt Elementary Johnny McNeal

    Holt High Anthony Roberts

    Huntington Place Elementary Tammy Brown

    Lake View Elementary Michelle Channell

    Lloyd Wood Education Center Shannon Edwards

    Matthews Elementary Cindy Greene

    Maxwell Elementary Bridgett Darling

    Myrtlewood Elementary Madison Pate

    Northport Elementary Barbra Green

    Northport Intermediate Ronald Hopson

    Northside High Jenny Pearson

    Northside Middle Priscilla Robertson

    Sipsey Valley High Janice Smith

    Sipsey Valley Middle Nicole Crawford

    Taylorville Primary Calesha Mullins

    TCSS Academy Tammy Wallace

    Tuscaloosa County High Brandi Avery

    Vance Elementary Jenna Pitts

    Walker Elementary Heather Kimbrell

    Westwood Elementary Erin Wilson

    Central Office Kirk Junkin

    Central Office Rachel Watters

    Maintenance Randall Wheat

    Transportation Pearl Cain

    Transportation Tevin Hollingsworth